top of page

What is a birth chart?

A birth chart where all the planets were at the exact time you were born inside of the zodiac wheel. Each persons birth chart is unique to them. The most common 3 that describe your personality are Your sun, moon & rising sign placements . Your sun sign is the most commonly known sign, it embodies your personality at a conscious level, and how you see yourself. Your rising sign is the sign that was rising on the eastern horizon when you were born. It reveals how you appear to others at a surface level/ what you let others see. Your moon sign, is where the moon was when you were born.. (it moves every 2.5 days). The moon rules your emotions & deepest feelings. Your intuition, instincts, and qualities that few see. Your Rising sign is determined by the time & place you were born. It is the zodiac sign rising on the eastern horizon at that moment. The Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus and Mars are the personal planets which affect our personalities and immediate relationships. The more distant planets affect how we interact with the world in a more general way. Jupiter, Saturn, Neptune, and Pluto interact with the world in a more general way. These planets take a long time to transit signs, and longer to travel around the entire wheel of the zodiac. Their impact is often deep and long lasting.

You can go deeper into the birth chart with the Houses of the zodiac. It is made up of 12 houses, starting with your rising sign ruling your first house. This makes each persons chart very unique. Each zodiac House represents a different area of life. You can see which houses are ruled by which signs, as well as where each planet is in your chart. These are all tools you can use to dig deeper into your personality and soul path.

PLANETS - influence

Sun-(1yr orbit) ego, self, life purpose, consciousness - creative energies

Moon-(28-30 day orbit) emotions, feeling, reaction, soul development -inner being

Mercury-(1yr) thinking, mind, communication, nerves, senses -mentality

Venus-(1yr) affection, love, receptiveness, harmony, intake - values

Mars-(2yrs) confidence, self projections, ambition, impulse, action

Jupiter-(12yrs) prosperity, spirit, compensation -expansion

Saturn-(29yrs) practical, form, responsibility, protection, limitation -structure

Uranus-(84yrs) individuality, breakthrough, new energies, transformation -change

Neptune-(164yrs) idealism, obligation, beyond the individual -integration

Pluto-(248yrs) transformation, life, death, rebirth, cycles -transition


bottom of page